The time has come! Cultural Anthropology/European Ethnology at JGU Mainz is now an Erasmus+ partner of the Filozofski fakultet of the University of Rijeka (Sveučilište u Rijeci) in Croatia, the Faculty of Philosophy, Politics and Economics at the Universidad de Deusto in Bilbao, Spain, and the Institute for Cultural Analysis of the Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt as well as the Department of History and European Ethnology at Leopold-Franzens-Universität Innsbruck in Austria. Our partnership with the University of Aberdeen has also been reinstated since Brexit!

The Erasmus+ Programme in Cultural Anthropology/European Ethnology

Students of cultural anthropology (BA, MA, PhD) can study abroad for one or two semesters with the Erasmus+ exchange programme. In doing so, possible tuition fees in the host country are waived. In addition, Erasmus+ pays a monthly stipend that helps cover living costs. Before the stay abroad, it is agreed which courses at the host university will be recognised after returning to the University of Mainz (Learning Agreement). A stay abroad in the 3rd or 4th semester is best suited for BA students of Cultural Anthropology.

If you are interested, please first contact the International Office at JGU for advice. You should then contact the Erasmus+ departmental coordinator, Dr. Taylor McConnell, by e-mail to arrange a subject-specific counselling appointment.

Application deadlines

Erasmus+ scholarships are only offered once a year, so plan your stay abroad at least one year in advance.

The Erasmus+ call for applications always takes place in the winter semester (usually between November and January) and includes all applications for the next winter semester and the summer semester after that. This means that in 2023/24 winter semester, all places for 2024/25 winter semester and 2025 summer semester are already allocated. If you would like to study abroad via Erasmus+ in the 2024/25 winter semester and/or 2025 summer semester, you must already apply in the 2023/24 winter semester.

Your Erasmus+ application in Cultural Anthropology/European Ethnology

In order to be nominated by Cultural Anthropology/European Ethnology for an Erasmus+ scholarship, you must submit a strong application and meet the following requirements by the start of the trip:

  • Successful completion of the first two semesters (Bachelor)
  • Very good language skills in the language of instruction of the partner university (in many cases English at the B2 level)
  • Basic knowledge of the national language


Applications for the 2024/2025 academic year can be submitted through this form (in German). For more information, please contact the Erasmus+ departmental coordinator at

Further steps

The next steps in the application process for an Erasmus+ scholarship or a study place at a foreign university will be explained to you by the Erasmus+ subject coordination after your application has been evaluated. Further information can be found on the website of the JGU International Office (in German).

Current Erasmus+ partner universities

Country Partner University City
Austria Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt Klagenfurt
Austria Leopold-Franzens-Universität Innsbruck Innsbruck
Croatia Sveučilište u Rijeci Rijeka
Croatia Sveučilište u Zagrebu Zagreb
Czech Republic Západočeská univerzita v Plzni Plzeň (Pilsen)
Estonia Tallinna Ülikool Tallinn
Finland Turun yliopisto Turku
France Université de Bordeaux Bordeaux
Greece Panepistimio Egeou Mytilene (Lesbos)
Hungary Szegedi Tudományegyetem Szeged
Ireland University College Dublin Dublin
Latvia Latvijas Kultūras Akadēmija Rīga
Lithuania Vytauto Didžiojo universitetas Kaunas
Poland Uniwersytet Gdański Gdańsk (Danzig)
Poland Uniwersytet Jagielloński Kraków
Poland Uniwersytet Wrocławski Wrocław (Breslau)
Slovenia Univerza v Ljubljani Ljubljana
Spain Universidad de Deusto Bilbao
Turkey Hacettepe Üniversitesi Ankara
United Kingdom University of Aberdeen Aberdeen

The list of our partner universities will be constantly expanded in the course of the 2023/2024 academic year, especially with a focus on Southeast Europe and German-speaking countries.